Wednesday, March 25, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday - Mad Miss Mimic by Sarah Henstra

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine spotlighting upcoming releases we're eagerly anticipating.

Release Date: May 5, 2015
Publisher: Penguin Canada
 
Summary (from Goodreads):
London, 1872. Seventeen-year-old heiress Leonora Somerville is preparing to be presented to society -- again. She's strikingly beautiful and going to be very rich, but Leo has a problem money can't solve. A curious speech disorder causes her to stutter but also allows her to imitate other people's voices flawlessly. Servants and ladies alike call her "Mad Miss Mimic" behind her back...and watch as Leo unintentionally scares off one potential husband after another.

London in 1872 is also a city gripped by opium fever. Leo's brother-in-law Dr. Dewhurst and his new business partner Francis Thornfax are frontrunners in the race to patent an injectable formula of the drug. Friendly, forthright, and as a bonus devastatingly handsome, Thornfax seems immune to the gossip about Leo's "madness." But their courtship is endangered from the start. The mysterious Black Glove opium gang is setting off explosions across the city. The street urchins Dr. Dewhurst treats are dying of overdose. And then there is Tom Rampling, the working-class boy Leo can't seem to get off her mind.

As the violence closes in around her Leo must find the links between the Black Glove's attacks, Tom's criminal past, the doctor's dangerous cure, and Thornfax's political ambitions. But first she must find her voice.

My WoW pick this week is Canadian author Sarah Henstra's debut YA novel Mad Miss Mimic! I absolutely love historical books set in the Victorian period, and with an English heiress who has a speech disorder and a mysterious opium gang attacking London, it should be an irresistable combination. Handsome suitors, deadly drama, dark intentions, a girl struggling to find her own voice... there's so much to love! And isn't the cover so pretty, too? I definitely can't wait to read Sarah Henstra's Mad Miss Mimic!

If you're Canadian, Penguin Canada is giving away 32 copies of Mad Miss Mimic on Goodreads right now! The giveaway ends on April 5, 2015, so enter soon:
https://www.goodreads.com/giveaway/show/129275-mad-miss-mimic

Wednesday, March 18, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday - The Fixer by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine spotlighting upcoming releases we're eagerly anticipating.

 Release Date: July 7, 2015
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Children's

Summary (from Goodreads): 
When sixteen-year-old Tess Kendrick is sent to live with her older sister, Ivy, she has no idea that the infamous Ivy Kendrick is Washington D.C.'s #1 "fixer," known for making politicians' scandals go away for a price. No sooner does Tess enroll at Hardwicke Academy than she unwittingly follows in her sister's footsteps and becomes D.C.'s premier high school fixer, solving problems for elite teens.

Secrets pile up as each sister lives a double life. . . . until their worlds come crashing together and Tess finds herself in the middle of a conspiracy with one of her classmates and a client of Ivy's. Suddenly, there is much more on the line than good grades, money, or politics, and the price for this fix might be more than Tess is willing to pay.

Perfect for fans of Pretty Little Liars and Heist Society, readers will be clamoring for more in this exciting new series.

I'm a huge fan of the TV show Scandal, so when I first heard about Jennifer Lynn Barnes' upcoming YA novel The Fixer, it was a no-brainer to instantly add it my must-read list. Doesn't this book sound amazing? Drama, conspiracies, mounting secrets and lies... what's not to love about The Fixer? I can't wait to see how Tess fixes her classmates' messes and what kind of trouble will find her at Hardwicke Academy!

Friday, March 13, 2015

Upcoming YA Book Events in March & April

Are you ready to mark your calendars? Here are some upcoming Canadian YA book events to look forward to attending in March and April!

Rachel Hartman
Canadian author Rachel Hartman will be celebrating the release of Shadow Scale, the long-awaited sequel to the New York Times bestselling Seraphina, with an event at the Toronto Public Library!
  • Friday, March 20 at 7pm ~ Lillian H. Smith branch, the Merril Collection of the Science Fiction, Speculation & Fantasy, of the Toronto Public Library

Natale Ghent
 Canadian author Natale Ghent will be celebrating the release of her new YA fantasy/paranormal novel Dark Company with a book launch in Toronto!
  • Saturday, March 28 at 8 pm ~ Junction Craft Brewing, 90 Cawthra Avenue, Unit #101, Toronto, ON
Kelley Armstrong
Chapters/Indigo will be hosting an exclusive pre-sale book signing with bestselling Canadian author Kelley Armstrong as she celebrates the release of Empire of Night, the second book in her Age of Legends series!
  •  Saturday, April 4 at 2pm ~ Chapters Oshawa, Oshawa, ON.

Wednesday, March 11, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday - Flirting With Scandal by Chanel Cleeton

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine spotlighting upcoming releases we're eagerly anticipating.

 Release Date: May 19, 2015
Publisher: InterMix

Summary (from Penguin USA): 
The author of I See London sets her sights on Washington, D. C., with a sexy new series about three sisters, the secrets they keep, and a powerful blog with a knack for exposing scandals...

Jackie Gardner knows all about dirty little secrets. The illegitimate daughter of one of the most influential senators in Washington, D.C., she grew up surrounded by the scandals and shadows of politics. Now that she's landed an internship with a powerful political consulting firm, she's determined to launch her career and take this city by storm.

William Andrew Clayton was born for politics. He knows the drill: work hard, play discreetly, and at all costs, avoid scandal. At twenty-six, his campaign for the Virginia State Senate is the first step to cementing his future. It's time for him to settle down, to find the perfect political spouse. He needs a Jackie Kennedy, not a Marilyn...

When Jackie meets Will in the bar of the Hay-Adams Hotel, sparks fly. But the last thing Will needs is to be caught in a compromising position, and an affair with a political candidate could cost Jackie her career. When what began as one steamy night, becomes a passion neither one of them can walk way from, they must decide if what they have is really love, or just another dirty little secret...

I absolutely loved Chanel Cleeton's International School series, so when I heard about her new NA/adult romance series, I instantly added it to my must-read list! Flirting With Scandal is the first book in the Capital Confessions trilogy, and based on its plot description alone, I just know it's going to give me all the feels. Scandal! Politics! Secrets! What's not to love? I absolutely can't wait to meet Jackie and Will in Flirting With Scandal.

Monday, March 9, 2015

Vendetta by Catherine Doyle

Title: Vendetta (Blood for Blood #1)
Author: Catherine Doyle
Release Date: February 24, 2015
Publisher: Chicken House
Pages: 352
Source: Bought

Overall: 5 Stars 

Summary:
Blood Will Spill, Hearts Will Break: With a fierce rivalry raging between two warring families, falling in love is the deadliest thing Sophie could do. An epic debut set outside modern-day Chicago.

For Sophie, it feels like another slow, hot summer in Cedar Hill, waitressing at her family’s diner and hanging out with her best friend Millie. But then someone moves into the long-abandoned mansion up the block--a family of five Italian brothers, each one hotter than the last. Unable to resist caramel-eyed Nicoli, Sophie finds herself falling for him -- and willfully ignoring the warning signs. Why are Nic's knuckles cut and bruised? Why does he carry an engraved switchblade? And why does his arrogant and infuriating older brother, Luca, refuse to let her see him? As the boys' dark secrets begin to come to light, Sophie is confronted with stinging truths about her own family, too. Suddenly, she's torn between two warring dynasties: the one she’s related to and the one she's now in love with. She'll have to choose between loyalty and passione. When she does, blood will spill, hearts will break. Because in this twisted underworld, dishonor can be the difference between life and death.
 

My Thoughts: 
I absolutely love to read NA and adult romances centered around families involved in organized crime, but I very rarely come across them in YA literature. I hope you can imagine my excitement when I heard about Catherine Doyle's Vendetta. With a plot description including Chicago, Italian names like Nicoli and Luca, and a family with a dark reputation, I instantly thought, "YA mafia romance! YES, FINALLY!". I've been highly anticipating Catherine Doyle's YA debut ever since then, so I was thrilled when Vendetta turned out to be everything I'd hoped for and more. 

In the sleepy, small town of Cedar Hill, located on the outskirts of Chicago, nothing new really happens, that is, until Sophie's father rocked their community a year ago when he committed a shocking crime one night. Since then, Sophie and her mother are treated like social pariahs and live with her uncle, trying to make ends meet. Sophie's only plan this summer is to work as a waitress at her family's diner and hang out with Millie, the only friend who stuck by her side when Sophie's world fell apart. But Sophie's life is forever changed again with the mysterious arrival of five handsome brothers, who move into a long-abandoned mansion close to her home. 

Despite the warnings from her uncle and a family friend, Sophie finds herself falling for Nicoli, the youngest of the brothers, who's sweet and charming temperament warms her heart. As they grow closer though, she doesn't understand why Nicoli's older brother, Luca, always seems to disapprove her very presence. Luca loves to infuriate Sophie, but she's unafraid to stand her ground against him. We'll have to wait and see if Catherine Doyle proceeds with any romantic entanglements because there was definitely some chemistry underlying Sophie and Luca's argumentative exchanges.

As lies are exposed and secrets are revealed, right and wrong are no longer so clear to Sophie. Nicoli and his brothers are much more dangerous than they first appear, and her own family is not as innocent as she once contently believed. Catherine Doyle's Vendetta is an intense, addictive, and suspenseful introduction to the Blood for Blood trilogy. I absolutely can't wait to read the sequel! The threat of danger is not over for Sophie and her star-crossed romance is just beginning...
Related Posts with Thumbnails